A few years ago I tried my hand my hand at english paper piecing on a workshop and developed the idea into making a hot water bottle cover for my daughter…

The basic hexagon was really easy to sew and could probably be adapted  as a lesson for anyone who wants to have a good old go… if you do not mind being a bit patient, sewing in and out, turning corners and the ever-present risk of a few jabs.

I really enjoyed sewing the neat little hexagons (therapeutic)  and then playing jigsaw with them! it filled a very dull evening!

Once two pieces big enough were assembled I quilted them by creating a ‘sandwich’, i.e. I placed the top hexagons face up, then I added some lightweight wadding as the filling and used some green flower ‘ditzy’ print fabric for a backing.

IMG_1709
I hand printed the label at a workshop

 

I ( cheated) machined around to make the pocket and added some binding around the edges, but if you wanted to you could hand sew this as well.

 

The labels I hand printed on another workshop.. I think they add a lovely unique finish and although not everything has to be perfect, they are certainly not, and that is quite okay because she says she smiles whenever she flips the hot water bottle in and out and it reminds her of me!

IMG_1707
the front of the finished hot water bottle

 

You can learn how to create your own english paper piecing by following this tutorial :

click here

It is oh so cosy and well made and it will hopefully keep toes warm for a very long time!

Happy Sewing!

 

 

 

 

